Hate speech cases; BJP MP and MLA’s leads the list

According to a recent report published by Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR), a Delhi based organisation, a total of 58 sitting MPs and MLAs have declared cases related to hate speech, with BJP having the maximum number of such politicians.

15 sitting Lok Sabha MPs have declared cases related to Hate Speech against themselves out of which, 10 are from the BJP and 1 each from the AIUDF (All India United Democratic Front), TRS (Telangana Rashtra Samithi), PMK (Paattali Makkall Katchi), AIMIM and Shiv Sena, as per the report.
Among the 43 sitting MLAs booked for hate speeches, 17 are from the BJP, 5 each from the TRS and AIMIM, including Asaduddin Owaisi, 3 from TDP, 2 each from TMC, Congress, JD(U) and Shiv Sena and 1 each form DMK, BSP, SP and 2 Independent MLAs.

None of the Rajya Sabha MPs have declared cases related to hate speech against them, the report added.
State-wise, Uttar Pradesh accounts for the highest number (15) of MPs and MLAs with hate speech related cases. According to the quint , BJP-ruled UP is also the state that recorded the highest number of communal incidents, with a rise of 17% in the year 2017.
ADR and National Election Watch (NEW) have analyzed the self-sworn affidavits of all sitting MPs and MLAs. The analysis is based on the affidavits submitted by the candidates and MPs/MLAs prior to the last election they contested.

Related Posts